Pak vs India: Pakistan lose both their openers early as Kumar strikes twice

Pak vs India: Pakistan lose both their openers early as Kumar strikes twice


Pakistan are 20-2 after 7 overs against India in their Group A match of the Asia Cup 2018 being played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.


Fakhar Zaman and Imamul Haq opened the batting for Pakistan, whereas Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar shared the new ball for India.


The Indian pacers stuck to a tight line and length in the opening two overs, which put the pressure on young Imam. He tried to accelerate the scoring by charging down the pitch and paid the price, nicking one behind to MS Dhoni.

Babar Azam walked in to partner Zaman, but their partnership barely lasted a couple of minutes, as the latter top-edged a Kumar delivery in the 5th over as was caught by Chahal.


Earlier, Sarfraz won the toss, opted to bat first and named the same side that had sauntered to victory against Hong Kong in their opening match of the tournament.


India brought back Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah after resting them in yesterday’s match against Hong Kong. The duo took Shardul Thakur and Khaleel Ahmed’s place in the side.


The match began after both the teams’ national anthems are played — a practise common in football but now being replicated in cricket as well.



Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (capt), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Fahim Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Usman Khan Shinwari


India: RG Sharma (c), S Dhawan, JJ Bumrah, YS Chahal, MS Dhoni †, KM Jadhav, KD Karthik †, Kuldeep Yadav, B Kumar, HH Pandya, AT Rayudu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here