PTI’s Asad Qaiser sworn in as NA speaker amid PML-N ruckus

PTI’s Asad Qaiser sworn in as NA speaker amid PML-N ruckus

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Asad Qaiser was elected as the speaker of National Assembly on Wednesday. He was contesting against Khursheed Shah from the Pakistan Peoples Party.


Qaiser received 176 votes to be elected to the speakership, whereas Shah got 146 votes. A total of 330 votes were cast, out of which 322 were accepted and eight were rejected.


The PTI leader was administered oath by outgoing speaker Ayaz Sadiq, following which the election for the slot of deputy speaker will be held.

Opposition members from the PML-N chanted slogans during the oath-taking and displayed posters of their quaid Nawaz Sharif, who is serving sentence in prison following his conviction in Avenfield corruption reference. MNAs from the Pakistan Peoples Party which is also sitting in opposition remained silent during this period.


Asad Qaiser, who previously served as speaker for the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, won NA-18 Swabi I and PK-44 Swabi 2 constituencies on the PTI’s ticket during the July 25 general election.


Qaiser belongs to the Swabi district of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and graduated from the University of Peshawar before moving on to a career in education. He joined the PTI in 1996, prior to which he was a member of the Jamaat-e-Islami’s student wing. In the PTI, he served as district president of Swabi and provincial president of the party.


In his remarks on the occasion, outgoing speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, who chaired today’s session of the 15th National Assembly, said the 14th assembly performed in an excellent manner and expressed confidence that the treasury and opposition benches will continue to work together in future in the best national interest.


For the slot of deputy speaker, PTI has named Qasim Suri while the joint opposition has nominated Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal leader Asad Mahmood.



Among those who cast the votes were PTI chairman and prime minister-in-waiting Imran Khan, and PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari who has been elected to the National Assembly for the first time.


Before the elections for speakership got under way, the five MNA-elects who were yet to take oath of their office were sworn in, taking the tally of elected MNAs to 329.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here