New Punjab cabinet to be sworn in today

New Punjab cabinet to be sworn in today

LAHORE: The new Punjab cabinet will take oath at Governor House in Lahore on Monday evening.


Acting Punjab Governor Chaudhry Parvez Elahi will administer oath to the new cabinet members, in a ceremony scheduled to be held at 5pm.


Punjab Chief Minister Sardar Usman Buzdar and other prominent personalities will attend the occasion.


The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government announced a 23-member Punjab cabinet on Sunday, with 15 of the members assigned ministries and eight yet to be given any portfolios.


According to an official document, Faizul Hassan Chouhan has been appointed provincial minister for Culture and Information while Dr Yasmin Rashid has been named Primary and Secondary Healthcare minister.


The list also mentioned independent candidate Taimor Khan, who joined the PTI government, named as Youth Affairs and Sports minister.


Aleem Khan has been named as Minister for Local Government, while Raja Basharat has been appointed provincial minister for Parliamentary Affairs.


Yasir Humayun Sarfraz has been assigned the post of Punjab Minister for Higher Education and Tourism.

The government also named Mehmood-ur-Rasheed as Housing, Urban Development and Public Health Engineering Minister; Rashid Hafeez as Revenue Minister; and Makhdoom Hashim Bakht as Finance Minister, among others.


The Balochistan cabinet will also take oath at 4pm today. Governor Mohammad Khan Achakzai will administer oath to the cabinet members.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here